At our annual planning meeting, the BSAA board laid out a number areas in which either the alumni or undergraduate chapters needed to improve. Among those, we targeted Homecoming as a weakness for both parties.

So the BSAA and Alpha Theta teamed-up this year to step up the Homecoming festivities by renting the third floor of the Brickhouse BBQ restaurant, located at 408 W. Gorham St.  About 40 alumni, actives, new members and parents were treated to a post game gathering featuring an open buffet of pulled pork, blackened catfish and roasted chicken along with a variety of sides.

Even though the Badgers lost to Michigan State 16-13,everybody’s spirits were lifted by the camaraderie and brotherhood. The venue exceeded expectations and has been given renewed consideration for the annual Parent-Alumni banquet in the spring.

Likewise, the improved homecoming festivities — which also included a pre game tailgate on Bassett Street — were an excellent addition to alumni-undergraduate relations

2012 Scholarship Winners


Alpha Theta awarded its third annual leadership scholarships this week at the University of Wisconsin.

Selected from nearly 40 applicants, this year’s winners were: Todd Sherman ($1,000), Liam Cook ($500), and Shawn Kerns ($500).  Open to all undergraduate male students, the scholarship is based on Phi Kappa Sigma’s core values of: trust, honor, respect, knowledge, wisdom, responsibility, and integrity.

Joining Phi Kappa Sigma is not a requirement to win a scholarship, but all three winners have either already pledged to join or have signed bid cards to join the Winter 2013 new member class. The process begins with responses to an application emailed to all incoming male students at the university, which then are screened by a committee of undergraduate members.

Selected applicants are then interviewed by a panel of actives and alumni; this year’s interview panel was: R Philip Petrowski ’01, Brian Schaeffer ’10, Ryan Campagna ’12 and David Melssen ‘15. Alpha Theta received nearly 40 applicants and conducted 10 interviews to select this year’s winners.