2012 Scholarship Winners


Alpha Theta awarded its third annual leadership scholarships this week at the University of Wisconsin.

Selected from nearly 40 applicants, this year’s winners were: Todd Sherman ($1,000), Liam Cook ($500), and Shawn Kerns ($500).  Open to all undergraduate male students, the scholarship is based on Phi Kappa Sigma’s core values of: trust, honor, respect, knowledge, wisdom, responsibility, and integrity.

Joining Phi Kappa Sigma is not a requirement to win a scholarship, but all three winners have either already pledged to join or have signed bid cards to join the Winter 2013 new member class. The process begins with responses to an application emailed to all incoming male students at the university, which then are screened by a committee of undergraduate members.

Selected applicants are then interviewed by a panel of actives and alumni; this year’s interview panel was: R Philip Petrowski ’01, Brian Schaeffer ’10, Ryan Campagna ’12 and David Melssen ‘15. Alpha Theta received nearly 40 applicants and conducted 10 interviews to select this year’s winners.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s